A cure for tired hands?

Wow this has been a busy week Stitches!

I’m close to finishing a large (read: Queen sized – what was I thinking?!) blanket made up of 4, 8, and 16 inch squares. I really like the way it looks and it’s been fun trying out new stitches and making patterns of my own but now I’m just ready to put the final snip to it. I’ve crammed as much hook-time into my days as possible and my hands are sore!

My alter-ego works on a computer all day, and that combined with the fact that I usually have something yarn-like on my person at all times means that I get carpal flare ups a lot. With this last big push to complete the blanket, I can’t really put the hooks down at the moment. I know I’m not the only yarnie to have this problem so I will put it out there…

What do you do get over hook-cramped hands? ย A massage sounds like a great idea but right now time and money are not cooperating. Any thoughts?

IMG_0500

(one more square down!)

 

6 thoughts on “A cure for tired hands?

  1. chucksforchancho

    I feel you!! Sometimes I have to decide on what projects to tackle based on how my hands are feeling at the time. Stretching my hands periodically during the day with carpel specific exercised seems to help. Also, my daily Aleve helps a ton with the discomfort. Hope that helps and you get to push thru it!

    Reply
    1. jennyinstitches Post author

      I have found some good exercises on Youtube that I’m going to try. I also spoke to the friend that this blanket is for and she’s pretty understanding. Even though it is way late already she said it was okay to slow down. On the bad days I can only get about ten minutes of hook time before my middle fingers go numb.

      Reply
    1. jennyinstitches Post author

      Yeah, that’s what I figured. I’m giving myself some time off after the project is done. I did try ambi-hooking once. Not good. Not only did it take 20 minutes to finish five stitches, I also spent a half hour after bumping into things. Kept listing lazily to the left. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply

Leave a Reply

